

FINAL

ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING MONDAY 20 MAY 2013

Appointments to Committees, Consultative Forums and Working Parties and Nomination for Chairs of Committees and Vice Chairs for 2013/14

NB. The appointment of Chairs and Vice Chairs to Committees will be made at the first meeting of each Committee

Recommendations

Council is asked to **RESOLVE** that

- (1) The schedule of appointments of Members to Committees, Consultative Forums and Working Groups for 2013/14 be approved.
- (2) In respect of the above, the Council, in accordance with Council Procedure Rules, appoint all Members as named deputies for all those meetings (with the exception of Cabinet, Planning Committee and Licensing and Enforcement Committee) to which the Member has not been appointed.
- (3) That the nominations for Chair and Vice Chair of Committees, as set out in the schedule, be noted and that each Committee at its first meeting in the new municipal year 2013/14 confirms and appoints its Chair and Vice Chair.

In accordance with the Council's Constitution, representation on the following committees/bodies are **not** subject to political balance rules.

- Constitution and Electoral Working Group
- ICT Working Group
- Equality Champions Group
- Regeneration Advisory Board

Alternative arrangements for appointments to these committees/bodies can be approved provided no Member of the Council votes against.

The number of seats held by the three political groups expressed as a percentage on the City Council (36) is:

Conservative 18 seats (% of 36) = 50.00%Liberal Democrat 9 seats (% of 36) = 25.00%Labour 9 seats (% of 36) = 25.00% When applied to the total number of committee seats (67) seats these percentages give the following aggregate entitlement (rounded up/down to the nearest whole seat) for each Group:-

Conservative 50.00% of 67 = 34 (33.5) Liberal Democrat 25.00% of 67 = 17 (16.75) Labour 25.00% of 67 = 17 (16.75)

Variance in total seats = +1

When the same percentages are applied to the number of seats on each committee/body (assuming the committees/bodies remain the same size as in the last municipal year) they give the following provisional entitlement to seats on each committee/body, rounded up or down to the nearest whole seat:-

	Con	Lib Dem	Lab	
Committee Size	50%	25%	25%	Seat Variance
15	8 (7.5)	4 (3.75)	4 (3.75)	+1
13	7 (6.5)	3 (3.25)	3 (3.25)	0
7	4 (3.5)	2 (1.75)	2 (1.75)	+1
6	3 (3)	2 (1.5)	2 (1.5)	+1
5	3 (2.5)	1 (1.25)	1 (1.25)	0

The calculation above results in a total variance of +4 seats across all committees/bodies subject to political proportionality. To reach the total available number of seats (67), allocations are adjusted as follows:

	Con	Lib Dem	Lab	
Committee Size	50%	25%	25%	Seat Variance
15	7 (7.5)	4 (3.75)	4 (3.75)	0
13	7 (6.5)	3 (3.25)	3 (3.25)	0
7	3 (3.5)	2 (1.75)	2 (1.75)	0
6	2 (3)	2 (1.5)	2 (1.5)	0
5	3 (2.5)	1 (1.25)	1 (1.25)	0

Using the adjusted calculation, the variation of the number of seats based on proportionality and each political party's entitlement is as follows:

_ 1 1		<i>y</i>	
	Provisional allocation (as indicated in schedule below)	Entitlement to seats on committees/bodies based on proportionality/Widdicombe principles	Variation
Conservative	33	34	-1
Liberal	17	17	0
Democrat			
Labour	17	17	0

Committees, Consultative Forums and Working Parties subject to political proportionality

OVE	OVERVIEW & SCRUTINY COMMITTEE						
Membership (15) Con (7) Lib Dem (4)			Lab (4)				
CIIr.	Lugg	(Lab)	(Chair)				
Cllr.	Beeley	(Lib)	(Vice Chair	r)			
CIIr.	Llewellyn	(Con)	(Spokespe	rson)			
Cllr.	Chatterton	(Lab)					
Cllr.	Dee	(Con)					
Cllr.	Field	(Lib)					
Cllr.	Gravells	(Con)					
Cllr.	Haigh	(Lab)					
Cllr.	Hansdot	(Lab)					
Cllr.	Randle	(Con)					
Cllr.	Taylor	(Con)					
Cllr.	Toleman	(Con)					
Cllr.	Williams	(Con)					
Cllr.	Wilson	(Lib)					
Cllr.	S Witts	(Lib)					

PLAN	PLANNING COMMITTEE							
Mem	bership (13)		Con (7) L		Dem (3)	Lab (3)		
CIIr.	Taylor	(Con)	(Chair)					
CIIr.	Lewis	(Con)	(Vice Chair	·)				
Cllr.	Bhaimia	(Lab)						
Cllr.	Dee	(Con)						
Cllr.	Hanman	(Con)						
Cllr.	Hilton	(Lib)						
Cllr.	Hobbs	(Lab)						
Cllr.	McLellan	(Lib)						
Cllr.	Mozol	(Lib)		N	amed Sub	ostitutes:		
Cllr.	Noakes	(Con)		C	on -	Tracey		
Cllr.	Ravenhill	(Con)		L	ab -	Hansdot		
Cllr.	Smith	(Lab)		L	ib -	Brown		
Cllr.	Toleman	(Con)						

PLAN	PLANNING POLICY SUB COMMITTEE						
Membership (5)			Con (3)	Lib Dem (1)	Lab (1)		
CIIr.	Taylor	(Con)	(Chair)				
CIIr.	Lewis	(Con)	Con) (Vice Chair)				
Cllr.	Dee	(Con)					
Cllr.	McLellan	(Lib)	ib)				
Cllr.	Smith	(Lab)					

LICE	LICENSING & ENFORCEMENT COMMITTEE					
Mem	bership (13)		Con (7)	Lib Dem (3)	Lab (3)	
Cllr.	Noakes	(Con)	(Chair)			
Cllr.	Porter	(Con)	(Vice Chair	·)		
Cllr.	Brown	(Lib)				
Cllr.	Durrant	(Lab)				
Cllr.	Gilson	(Lab)				
Cllr.	Hanman	(Con)				
Cllr.	Lugg	(Lab)				
Cllr.	Mozol	(Lib)				
Cllr.	Randle	(Con)				
Cllr.	Ravenhill	(Con)				
Cllr.	Toleman	(Con)				
Cllr.	Tracey	(Con)				
Cllr.	C. Witts	(Lib)				

AUDI	AUDIT & GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE						
Membership (7)			Con (3)	Lib Dem (2)	Lab (2)		
Cllr.	Wilson	(Lib)	(Chair)				
CIIr.	Hobbs	(Lab)	(Vice Chair	·)			
Cllr.	Gilson	(Lab)					
Cllr.	Llewellyn	(Con)					
Cllr.	McLellan	(Lib)					
Cllr.	Noakes	(Con)					
Cllr.	Porter	(Con)					

NB. Comprised of non-Executive Members

ORG	ORGANISATIONAL DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE						
Membership (5)			Con (3)	Lib Dem (1)	Lab (1)		
CIIr.	James	(Con)	(Chair)				
Cllr.	Wood	(Con)	(Vice Chair	·)			
Cllr.	Haigh	(Lab)					
Cllr.	Hilton	(Lib)	_ib)				
Cllr.	Llewellyn	(Con)					

NB. Members drawn from each of the political groups

EMPI	EMPLOYEE FORUM							
Membership (3 Cllrs)		IIrs)	Con (1)	Lib Dem (1)	Lab (1)			
Cllr.	Brown	(Lib)						
Cllr.	Llewellyn	(Con)						
Cllr.	Lugg	(Lab)						

GRANTS & COMMUNITY SERVICES FORUM							
Membership (6 Cllrs) plus Cabinet Member for Communities and Neighbourhoods			Con (2)	Lib Dem (2)	Lab (2)		
Cllr.	Beeley	(Lib)					
Cllr.	Bhaimia	(Lab)					
Cllr.	Brown	(Lib)					
Cllr.	Dee	(Con)					
Cllr.	Hansdot	(Lab)					
Cllr.	Randle	(Con)					

NB Chaired by voluntary sector

Committees, Consultative Forums and Working Parties NOT subject to political proportionality

CONSTITUTIONAL & ELECTORAL WORKING GROUP							
Membership (6)			Con (2)	Lib Dem (2)	Lab (2)		
Cllr.	Field	(Lib)					
Cllr.	Haigh	(Lab)					
Cllr.	Hilton	(Lib)					
Cllr.	Noakes	(Con)					
Cllr.	Smith	(Lab)					
Cllr.	Taylor	(Con)					

NB. Nominations for Chair and Vice Chair to be considered at the first meeting

REGENERATION ADVISORY BOARD							
Membership (3 Cllrs) Con (1)		Lib Dem (1)	Lab (1)				
Cllr. Hilton (Lib) Cllr. Randle (Con) Cllr. Smith (Lab) Plus the Cabinet Member for Regeneration and Culture in an ex-officio capacity		 plus Dean of Gloucester Cathedral, Reverend Stephen Lake (Chair) University of Gloucestershire representative One representative of the former GHURC Board Major employer member SME member Community member Heritage member 					

EQUALITY CHAMPIONS GROUP								
Membership (3)			Con (1)	Lib Dem (1)	Lab (1)			
CIIr.	Dallimore	(Con)	(Chair)					
Cllr.	Haigh	(Lab)						
Cllr.	Wilson	(Lib)						

ICT WORKING GROUP								
Membership (3)			Con (1)	Lib Dem (1)	Lab (1)			
Cllr.	Taylor	(Con	n) (Chair)					
Cllr.	Chatterton	(Lab))					
Cllr.	Wilson	(Lib)						